Redskins 10 For 80 Winners Announced


As most fans of the burgundy and gold already know, the Washington Redskins had their ‘Redskins 10 for 80’ contest for the fans to vote on exactly who they believed should be added to the all-time Redskins team. A few years back, the first 70 were announced, but this year in honor of 80 years in existence, the team decided to add ten more players to the list.

Redskins 10 For 80 Winners Announced

The team announced the winners at the 51st annual Redskins Welcome Home Luncheon Friday. The new add-on’s to list include vital pieces in the Redskins front office during the Superbowl years in the 80s and 90s, as well as all-time greats who were very deserving of the honor.

The following players were added to the list.

Clinton Portis – RB | 2004-10

A dynamic player and personality, Portis is the second-leading rusher in franchise history and scored 49 touchdowns over seven seasons in Washington. He was elected to two Pro Bowls and was named second-team All-Pro in 2008. He finished with 8,164 yards from scrimmage and 26 100-yard games.

Sean Taylor – S | 2004-07

A complete defensive player, Taylor was known as a hard-hitter and play-maker  He made the Pro Bowl in 2006 and 2007 and logged five interceptions in his last nine games.

LaVar Arrington – LB | 2000-05

A dynamic Redskins linebacker and the second overall pick in the 2000 NFL Draft, Arrington earned three consecutive Pro Bowl berths from 2001-03. He had 22.5 sacks – including 11 in 2001 – in six seasons with the Redskins.

Roy Jefferson – WR | 1971-76

A three-time Pro Bowler with the Redskins, Jefferson caught 208 passes and 15 touchdowns in six seasons. Often a clutch receiver, he led the offense in receptions in 1971 and helped the team win the 1972 NFC Championship.

Richie Petitbon – S/ASSISTANT COACH | 1971-72, 1971-93

Petitbon finished his playing career in Washington and had nine takeaways on defense in 16 games. He later returned as a defensive coach, serving on all three Super Bowl-winning staffs. He later relieved Joe Gibbs as the head coach and was inducted into the team’s Ring of Fame in 2011.

Bobby Beatherd – GENERAL MANAGER | 1978-89

Beathard was one of the chief architects of the Redskins’ championship teams of the 1980s. He drafted the likes of Art Monk, Darrell Green, and Russ Grimm. The Redskins’ 1981 draft class is regarded as one of the greatest ever.

Chris Samuels – OT | 2000-09

Samuels was a six-time Pro Bowl left tackle during his ten years in Washington. He started 141 games protecting the blind side of Redskins quarterbacks and received the Ed Block Courage Award in 2002. He returned to the team in 2010 as a coaching intern for the offensive line.

Jon Jansen – OT | 1999-2008

A 1999 second-round draft pick, Jansen was mostly a “Rock” – his nickname – at right tackle, starting 123 games in his Redskins career. He helped block for two of the top rushing performances in franchise history (1999 Stephen Davis, 2005 Clinton Portis).

Joe Bugel – ASSISTANT COACH | 1981-89, 2004-09

A legendary offensive line coach, Bugel guided one of the greatest offensive lines in NFL history, instilling toughness every step of the way. He coined the nickname “The Hogs” for the likes of Russ Grimm, Joe Jacoby, Jeff Bostic, George Starke, and Mark May, among others.

Terry Hermaling – OT | 1970-80

A tough-minded left tackle who joined the Redskins as an undrafted free agent, Hermeling would start 103 of 120 career games in 11 seasons in Washington. He helped the Redskins capture the 1972 NFC Championship.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top