Chris Baker Will not be Suspended After hit on Foles Ruled Legal
“Baker didn’t do anything wrong with that hit,” said Troy Vincent, the NFL’s executive vice president of football operations. “When you look at the rule, he didn’t do anything illegal. People can say it’s a cheap shot and you can talk about whether it might fall under unsportsmanlike conduct. But when you know the rule and you look at the play, he didn’t hit him in the head. He didn’t hit him in the neck. We looked at it. I looked at it very closely. He’s not going to be fined for that.”
Under NFL rules, a quarterback is considered a defenseless player after throwing an interception and cannot be hit by an opposing player in the head or neck area. Baker’s hit was in neither spot.